Three 31

52 Weeks, 52 Letters – a project

16 Comments


I recently found a Facebook page called 52 Weeks of Mail. The idea is simple: nurture relationships and keep in touch with friends and loved ones. I also found this post that describes Katy’s journey in 2011, including this description of the writing challenge:

Send one piece of “real” mail each week. It can be a letter, a postcard, a care package, a thank you note, handmade art, etc. Gather lots of cards and stationery, plus pens, envelopes, lots of stamps (.28 & .44), a glue stick, unlined index cards (great for making postcards), and a few USPS Small Flat Rate boxes.

One of the items on my Bucket List for 2012 is to send more notes, cards, and letters via snail mail. God bless the U.S. Postal Services, right?! Seriously, I love sitting down with a lovely stationery set, a nice pen, and putting thoughts on paper. On the flip side, I love opening the mailbox to find a similar gift inside. Nothing screams “I value you so much that I sat down, ignored my to-do list for a while, and focused only on YOU to write this” like a handwritten letter.

In my quest to become more punctual about correspondance, I have also found (via blogs and Pinterest) free printable templates for greeting cards, note cards, and gift tags. There are some incredibly talented people on this earth, here are a few to get you started on the 52 Letters project:

Do you want to participate in the 52 Weeks, 52 Letters projects? It’s never too late, link up anytime and join the fun!!!!!

Add your blog link below:



Don’t forget about the giveaway here at Three 31 …. ENTER NOW!

Happy writing, Y’all!!!!

Author: Nicole

My name is Nicole and I am a beloved child of God, devoted wife, soon-to-be mom, spoiled daughter, and gracious Southern Belle from the Commonwealth of Kentucky. I live in Texas with Husband and a white horse named Blue. Our son, Kamden, is due in December 2013.

16 thoughts on “52 Weeks, 52 Letters – a project

  1. I’m in! I was looking for a project to kick off 2012 and one of my resolutions is to make an effort to connect with family and friends so this is a perfect fit! I’ll post something on my blog shortly. (http://valcitygal.wordpress.com) Excited!

    • Excellent …… feel free to pass along the word, I’m looking forward to doing this myself. I have links to free printables for note cards, thank-you cards, and such but I’m an idiot and saved the PDF files and not the links. I need to find the links to give credit where it’s due. As soon as I do, I promise to re-post.

      p.s. Love your blog, ValCityGal!!!!

      xo,
      Nicole

  2. I’m a 52 Weeks participant as well! :) I post about my mailbox adventures at my blog: The Modest Peacock
    Stop on by and say hey! :)

    • Hi Jenny, thanks for visiting my blog and sharing that you’re also a 52 Letters participants. This is going to be great fun! Check your email, I visited your blog (love it!) and send you my pen-pal address.

      xo,
      Nicole

  3. Pingback: Another Volume of 52Words 52Weeks « the world azis

  4. I saw this on someone else’s blog, and I wanted to tell you thanks for encouraging this! I probably won’t be sending a letter every week, but I am starting by at least sending people cards in the mail for birthdays and other occassions. I think we need to get back to more handwritten correspondence!

    • Thank you, Amy, for sharing the kind words. I found the idea of 52 Letters on another blog as well as the Facebook page. It’s a great idea and one that I am proud to support. Sending notes and greeting cards has always been important to me, but now I’m more diligent and focused in my correspondence! I may be a twenty-something, but darn-it, I’m keeping handwriting alive!!!!!

      xo,
      Nicole

  5. Hi Nicole, I saw your comment on my cousin Lisa’s blog http://lisadenoia.wordpress.com/2012/01/01/2012-resolutions and I immediately added 52 letters in 52 weeks to my resolutions for 2012! I am excited to get started, thanks for the link.

    • Hi Gracey! You’re related to Lisa, LUCKY YOU!!! She and I were co-workers several years ago and she saved my a$$ on more than one occassion and always provided the best comic relief under the most ridiculous and stressful situations ….. I love that woman! I’m also loving your blog. I won’t bore you with all my shoulda-woulda-coulda but I’m adding your blog to my “favorites” and will visit often. It looks like you’ve gotten a start on your resolution list and I’m glad to know you’re joining the 52 Letters project. Speaking of which, I’m running out of time for Week One!

      xo,
      Nicole

  6. What a great idea, Nicole!!

    • I’ve got to get started …… well, finish what I’ve started. It’s been a CRAZY week starting school again (blah) and I’ve got three letters to finish, address, stamp, and mail. Ahhhhh, I will, MUST get it done!!!!

      • I’ve got to get my letter written for this week! As a matter of fact, I am going to stop what I am doing and write it NOW! Thanks for the reminder

        • Gracey,
          You and me both!!!!! I have a stack of cards that I’ve started but not finished, nor addressed or stamped that I’ve got to get out this weekend. I had to apologize to my 81-year-old Nana this morning too because I forgot to send HER birthday card. AHHHHHHH this week has been too crazy. I want Christmas break to return so I can relax from the Christmas break we just had. HAHAHAHA

          xo,
          Nicole

  7. Pingback: Love Letter Challenge Week 1 « A Gentleman's Canteen

  8. Pingback: { a quest for stationery } « three 31

  9. Pingback: Written a Letter Recently? | Grace's Rantings

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,424 other followers