Three 31

Tangerine Tango

12 Comments


I’ve done it again … I’ve successfully been unsuccessful at accomplishing tasks of the utmost importance. Instead of doing housework, I’m surfing the Web, being lazy, thinking about laundry, and imagining a clean kitchen. The reality of returning to work, as well as folding laundry, seems like a bad dream. My solution: post items to eBay, read resolutions on blogs, and become acquainted with Pantone’s Color of the Year for 2012. I didn’t even know such a thing existed. But it’s interesting. And pretty.

The Pantone color for 2012 is Tangerine Tango, a reddish orange. What do you think? Do you like my blog header?

In their press release, Pantone called Tangerine Tango a spirited reddish orange that will provide an energy boost we need to recharge and move forward. Further, Tangerine Tango is a fun, lively take on a traditional autumnal hue.

I’m a huge fan of warm earth tones and fall (or autumn) is my favorite time of year. With that being said, Tangerine Tango could easily be incorporated into our home via accent pillows for our new couch and with other decorative pieces.

Did you catch that? HUSBAND. BOUGHT. FURNITURE.

Quick, but true, story: After our family’s Christmas celebrations, we ventured to a popular shopping destination in the DFW Metroplex to look at clearance sales and I had to get fitted for a bridesmaid dress, plus a few other errands. The next thing I knew, we were leaving La-Z-Boy with a receipt for living room furniture. Husband bought a couch and two leather recliners; everything should be delivered in a 4-6 weeks. Since this surprise occasion, I’ve been online looking for side tables (preferably round), accent pillows, and lighting (table and floor lamp) options. The furniture will completely transform the space, in addition to relocating the TV. I’ll post more about this little adventure later!!!!

According to Pantone’s website, you can incorporate Tangerine Tango in all aspects of life, from fashion and makeup to home decor and wall paint. Husband and I painted the entire interior of our house two years ago; he’d put a “for sale” sign on me if I even THOUGHT ABOUT painting again!!!!

So instead of being sold at auction to the most unlucky bidder, I found other ways of incorporating Tangerine Tango into my life. I admit: I got a little excited about this Pantone color. The first item I created was a monogram that I uploaded to Vistaprint and ordered custom stationery.

Speaking of stationery, join the writing and correspondence challenge I introduced yesterday called, 52 Weeks of Mail. Check it out, and email me your contact information so I can send you something!

I’ve been looking at accent pillows (tangerine, of course) and found several that go against my “normal and comfortable”:

 There’s something you should know about our house …… it’s very SQUARE. Meaning, lots of straight lines. Everything from the furniture, rugs, tables, and the frames on the walls are square. With the new furniture, I want to incorporate more color (Tangerine Tango!), pillows with fabric that’s not our normal, and ROUND stuff. Husband says he’s round (true, so am I) but he doesn’t give two-hoots about design or furniture or day-core (how he pronounces decor). I’m looking for round accent tables to flank each side of the couch, table lamps with round shades, and tall floor lamps for additional lighting.

If anybody has any suggestions, please pass them along …. I need all the advice I can get.

Don’t forget to enter the GIVEAWAY here at Three 31 – ends January 7!!!!!

Love,

Author: Nicole

Nicole is ... God's Beloved. Husband's Wife. Kamden's Mom. Breast milk donor. Wannabe Blogger + Photographer. A Kentucky girl living in Texas. Blessed beyond measure. And so much more.

12 thoughts on “Tangerine Tango

  1. Lucky you with a new couch! Get the floral appliqued pillows, if they go with the couch that is… Beautiful, rich design! ~ Lynda

  2. I love the new color.. its warm and happy… I think this is your color.. I love the first pillow the best. Congrats on the new living room . What color couch and recliners did you pick out. Can’t wait to see a picture of the completed room. I’m sure it will be warm and cozy.

    xoxo
    wilma

    • Thanks Wilma. I have to agree, Tangerine Tango is a very warm color that makes me smile (and happy!) too. The decision on a pillow is going to be the death of me, I’m such an indecisive person!!!! The couch (I think? I don’t remember!) is a neutral tone, but a darker shade of brown (mocha?) and the two recliners are “caramel” or a lighter shade of brown. With the light floors and POPS of color, I think it’ll be just like you said: warm, cozy, and inviting.

      xo,
      Nicole

  3. Love the color! Sounds like you’re starting the year by stretching the boundaries! What fun…

    • Cecelia, I’m certainly trying!!!! When Husband surprised me with the furniture purchase, I knew it was time to do something outside of our normal and comfortable. What’s a little pillow going to hurt, right?!?! I love the Tangerine Tango, such a great color to brighten your mood but relaxing and inviting and warm too. Cheers to 2012.

      xo,
      Nicole

  4. Sara’s wedding colors are tangerine and brown imagine that.

    • Great colors!!!!! I’m sorry I won’t be able to attend this joyous occasion and party with the besties, but I’ll be packing for Haiti that weekend. Have a drink for me, will ya?!

      xo,
      Nicole

  5. Great color!!!

  6. I’m a huge fan of this color because it reminds me of summer. I love the pillows, but I kind of want a skirt or a cute dress in this color! =) I also love your MONOGRAM.

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,484 other followers