Three 31

Final Resolution Update of 2013

6 Comments


Well, here we are at the end of 2013 and time for me to summarize how well I did with my resolutions. It’s been quite the year, nothing like I expected when I shared this post last January. But I am better for everything that’s happened and every blessing in my life, including this little guy:

BLOG RELATED
meet new 5 bloggers in person I hosted the DFW Bloggers’ Spring Meet Up
host or co-host a link-up Pen to Paper for National Handwriting Day
host at least one sponsored giveaway Fail.
be a guest writer on someone’s blog I did several, actually, and you can see the list here.

FOOD & DRINK
make sweet pickles using Neenie’s recipe Fail.
make homemade bread {without the bread machine} Fail.
make the perfect omelet Fail. While I made more omelets this year that tasted great, none of them looked perfect. I need to practice my “flip” skills.
prepare and deliver a meal to a local fire station Fail.
eat at a celebrity chef’s restaurant Sort of. Mom and I ate at Afrah in Richardson, Texas. Their chicken shawarma was featured on The Food Network with Guy Fieri.
attend a gourmet cooking class Fail.
attend a Sushi making class Celeste and I made sushi together.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES
participate in the Great Day of Service Fail.
serve the homeless at a local soup kitchen Fail.
build a home with Habitat for Humanity Fail.
go on a mission trip Fail.

PEOPLE / PLACES TO VISIT
Holy Land (Israel) BIG SUCCESS!!!!!! This trip was incredible, amazing, awesome, and wonderful. I can’t wait to go back!
Lisa in Virginia Fail.
Jacquelyn in Texas Fail.
Margaret in Colorado Fail.

THINGS TO SEE
a performance at Bass Hall Julie and I saw Natalie Merchant in concert.
a midnight movie premiere Fail.
movie at a drive-in theater Fail.
college football game Fail.
professional athletic event Fail.

THINGS TO DO
a monthly “date” with Husband Part fail, part success. Husband and I don’t have “dates” per se, but we enjoy lunch at Chick-Fil-A or dinner at Qdoba. I think we may have gone to see a movie once or twice. That’s pretty fancy for us.
create a portfolio of photographs I’ve taken Fail.
journal at least 3 days a week Wrote in my journal on a very regular basis this year.
get a full-time job Fail.
professionally frame the print from Lisa DeNoia Photography Fail, sorry Lisa. =(
complete Laity Development Training Success, but I don’t use it much.
write a letter to an editor Fail.
go wild hog hunting Fail.
attend a baby shower Baby Kamden was “showered” with love three times: two showers in Kentucky and one in Texas. He’s very loved, very blessed, and very spoiled!!!
attend a wedding Fail, but I know of one that I hope to attend in January 2014.
attend a religious service different from my own Fail.
go to a Texas-specific festival Fail.
go to a comedy show Fail.
take a course for Photoshop editing I spent almost an entire day with Sean, a professional photographer and graphic designer, learning Photoshop editing tricks. Unfortunately, I haven’t practiced much.
finish my novel Fail, but I got a lot farther on the draft than I thought I would this year.
have Girls’ Nights at least once a quarter Fail, only because it happened twice – in April with the DFW Bloggers and in October with friends.
play in a golf tournament I participated in a golf tournament as an eight-month pregnant spectator who ate lunch with friends and followed them on the course for a couple of hours. I got real ballsy and hit a few tee shots and putts, nothing high impact though. This counts, right?!
read Gone With The Wind Fail, but I watched the movie at least a half-dozen more times!
sell my car Fail.

WISH LIST
spa facial every 6-8 weeks Fail. I did really well the first half of the year, but stopped going in May after I found out I was pregnant. I still have vouchers, hopefully the clinic will still accept them in 2014.
square-toe cowboy boots Fail.
unique necklace Husband bought me this necklace from The Vintage Pearl with his and Kamden’s name on it. Of course the heart represents our love and the horseshoe is a reminder of our wedding day as a diamond horseshoe pendent necklace was my “something borrowed” item.
Warby Parker glasses Fail.
TOMS shoes Bought a pair of blue and white TOMS from the collegiate collection representing the University of Kentucky. GO CATS!
a battery for my watch Fail.
a pretty camera bag Purchased this bag prior to my Holy Land trip.
Oakley sunglasses Thanks to Regina (@gigierickson), I have new Oakley sunglasses!
Le Creuset loaf pan Not only do I have a new loaf pan, but Husband bought me an entire stainless steel cookware set for our anniversary. I also added a few cast iron pieces to my collection.

MONTHLY RESOLUTIONS
January
– organize a group to read Wonderstruck by Margaret Feinberg. FAIL – but I purchased the DVD study collection.
February – edit photos from Holy Land. SUCCESS. Schedule a paid photo shoot. FAIL.
March – share Holy Land photos. FAIL. Go to eye doctor and get new contacts. FAIL. Create, order, and mail Easter cards. SUCCESS.
April – survive a week of state-mandated testing with my middle school students. SUCCESS. Host DFW Bloggers’ Spring Meet Up. SUCCESS.
May – I want to fast forward to June. SUCCESS, as I survived.
June – end the school year. SUCCESS. Get a full-time teaching position. FAIL. attend Annual Conference in Fort Worth. SUCCESS. visit family in Kentucky. SUCCESS – Husband and I shared our pregnancy news with family and friends!
July – create an online baby registry. SUCCESS. Take pictures for someone. SUCCESS.
August – exercise 5 days a week. SUCCESS. Assemble Baby K’s nursery furniture. FAIL.
September – continue exercise regimen and try a new group class. SUCCESS. Clean windows and blinds throughout the house. SUCCESS. Hang curtains. FAIL
Mail invitations for girls’ night. SUCCESS.
October – assemble nursery furniture. SUCCESS. Go to Kentucky for baby showers. SUCCESS. Go to the gym at least four days a week. SUCCESS.
November – hang curtains. FAIL. Attend breastfeeding class. SUCCESS. Pack our hospital bags. FAIL
December – HANG THE DAMN CURTAINS! FAILURE!!!!!!!!! I hate home decorating, especially window treatments. Pack our hospital bags. SUCCESS.

Well, there you have it. An entire year’s worth of goals and resolutions with a scorecard. I’m always surprised at what I accomplish and this year is no different. Granted, my intentions were radically transformed once I learned I was pregnant but it’s still been a great year. I’m really proud of myself for joining the gym, committing to a healthier lifestyle, and losing weight during pregnancy — not many women can say they LOST weight while growing a healthy baby! With that being said, I know I have a lot of work ahead of me in 2014. Along with taking care of our son, I want to regain control of my weight and adopt a lifestyle that is both healthy and smart.

What about you, did you make any resolutions in 2013? Were you successful? Are you making some for 2014? Tell me in a comment!

I hope you’ll come back tomorrow for my 2014 Resolution List. =)

Author: Nicole

Nicole is ... God's Beloved. Husband's Wife. Kamden's Mom. Breast milk donor. Wannabe Blogger + Photographer. A Kentucky girl living in Texas. Blessed beyond measure. And so much more.

6 thoughts on “Final Resolution Update of 2013

  1. You accomplished so much. Perhaps instead of calling them “fails” you can instead see them as “incompletes”.

    Thank you for the inspiration, you truly are an amazing woman.

  2. You did good, friend. Accomplished a lot. I FINALLY finished my longest Year in Review ever. Now to start working on those resolutions. =)

  3. I didn’t have ONE let alone a gazillion. You always amaze me. Wishing you well.

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,530 other followers