Three 31

Finish This #25

35 Comments


FINISHTHIS.linkupbutton

WELCOME TO WEEK 25 OF FINISH THIS … your co-osts are LISA (COASTLINED), JEN (The Arizona Russums), BECKY (The Java Mama) and NICOLE (Three 31). The link up instructions are simple: answer the prompts in a post on your blog. Then, add the post to the collection list using the link below. Next week’s prompts are located at the bottom of this post.

FINISH THIS Week 25 Giveaway Banner

 As a ‘thank you’ for participating in the Finish This link up, the co-hosts are offering $25 gift cards to their favorite retailers. To be eligible to win, you must participate in Week 25 link up. Four (4) winners will be selected using a random number generator. Giveaway ends June 30.

1. I have a quarter to use a pay phone, I call …
first of all, I only have, like, five phone numbers memorized, 9-1-1 being one of them! Depending on the situation, I would call Mom, Husband, Alan, or Rev L. Husband gets 98-percent of my calls, no matter the situation. However, sometimes I need to hear my Mom’s voice. If I needed to be bailed out of jail, I’d call Rev L (because I know her number). I’m 99.99999% sure she’d call Alan to report my shenanigans. Knowing my luck, they’d both show up at the county jail to point and laugh … then post my bail.

2. I found $25 in my pocket, I buy …
food, and, most likely, sushi or seafood. Celeste, a dear friend and lovely lady in my life, and someone else I’d call if I were in jail, once called sushi “a treat for your palette.” I totally agree! And I’ve never met a shrimp, fish, lobster, crab, or scallop I couldn’t eat.

3. I have 25 minutes to watch anything on TV, I turn on …
Teen Mom or 16 & Pregnant or Chopped or The Real Housewives or MasterChef. I watch Wheel of Fortune every night, religiously, so that’s a given. For a treat, I like to watch cooking competitions, grown women act like fools, and, if I’m feeling like a parenting failure, Teen Mom. It lifts my spirits immediately. Basically, I feel blessed (and somewhat normal) after watching really bad TV. :)

4. A meal I can prepare, from start to finish. in 25 minutes or less is …
chicken (or pork) and rice. It’s one of Husband’s favorite meals and it’s so easy and simple to prepare. Season boneless chicken breasts (or boneless pork loin chops) and sauté over medium-high heat until done, remove from pan. Add uncooked rice (we like Uncle Ben’s original recipe), seasonings packet, and hot water to pan, bring to boil then reduce heat to simmer, cover, and cook 15-20 minutes, until rice is cooked and water is absorbed. If I’m really in a time crunch, I’ll use instant rice or the packages of rice that cook in two minutes or less in the microwave. While the rice cooks, cube the chicken into bite-size pieces. When the rice is done, stir in the chicken and you’re done.

5. At the age of 25, I wish I had known …
that a child was DEFINITELY in my future and I’d need a bigger vehicle. In 2009, I purchased a 2007 Toyota Camry (in cash, mind you) but I had also looked at Toyota SUVs and Tundra CrewMax with giddy eyes. At the time, I convinced myself the car was the more logical choice. I don’t NEED an SUV or full-size pickup, even with Kamden, but it would be nice to have the extra room. But my Camry is paid for and I’d be stupid to have a car payment right now. Of course, the vehicle I really, really WANT is ridiculously stupid expensive and Mama didn’t raise no fool. My car gets great gas mileage and goes wherever Kamden needs to go because, let’s be honest, I’m just his titty-milk-producing chauffeur!

6. If I drove 25 miles DUE EAST from my house, I’d be in …
Mansfield, Texas. Home of my OB/Gynecologist, Dermatologist, Kamden’s Pediatrician, the hospital where Kamden was born, and Which Wich.

whichwich

photo source

I might be OBSESSED with turkey club sandwiches and house chips from Which Wich. I purposefully schedule doctor’s visits around the lunch hour so I can indulge in Which Wich. When I was pregnant, Husband quit asking where I ate lunch after maternity appointments after the third credit card charge in less than two weeks. In my hospital bag, I had a Which Wich bag (filled out with my order and name printed on the bottom) because I knew I’d be hungry after delivery!!! I still find any excuse to go to Which Wich. Two weeks ago, I attended a church conference and happily ate at the Which Wich located nearby. I’m convinced Jesus is a sandwich connoisseur and would appreciate Which Wich as much as I do. There is one in Mansfield and two in Fort Worth. I’ve been to all three, on multiple occasions! Besides tasting amazing and the bread being milk-free, I am a loyal customer because your sandwich is prepared fresh *AND* it is not a mess when you get it. Which Wich’s website is amazing and includes a complete list of common allergens for all of their menu items. I stopped going to another sandwich place (it rhymes with CUBMAY) because those people literally throw your sandwich together in a hot minute to rush you out the door and your sandwich looks nasty and tastes worse. I had a CUBMAY employee tell me I was obnoxious when I asked her to put the meat and veggies ON the bread instead of the sheet of paper. She literally grabbed a handful of spinach and turkey that had fallen off the bread and SLAMMED it down. I exited without my sandwich and never went back. At Which Wich, even though the price is higher, the quantity and quality of ingredients is so much better and the service is top-notch. Employees greet you with a smile as you walk in the door and your custom, made-to-order sandwich tastes great. I was not paid to endorse Which Wich, the company has no idea who I am. I just really, really like their food . If my calculations are correct, I am one purchase away from a free sandwich because I am in the loyalty program. Also, in the event Rev L and Alan have to bail me out of jail, I expect them to be armed with a Which Wich turkey bag with my name on it. :)

Now it’s your turn. Answer these prompts in a post on your own blog and join the link up! Come back next Wednesday for another round of Finish This where we’ll answer the prompts below!

Prompts for WEEK 26 (July 2) are:
It’s never too late …
I compare myself to others …
My personality is …
I can …
I embrace change …

Author: Nicole

Nicole is ... God's Beloved. Husband's Wife. Kamden's Mom. Breast milk donor. Wannabe Blogger + Photographer. A Kentucky girl living in Texas. Blessed beyond measure. And so much more.

35 thoughts on “Finish This #25

  1. Oh my gosh girl love me some which wich! Sandwiches when made right are awesome!

    • Girl, where has Which Wich been all my life?! If I could afford it, I would open my own franchise. Husband says I’d ‘eat’ all the profits but my belly would sure be happy, happy, happy! HAHAHAHAHA

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 7:02 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  2. Hm, I’ve never heard of Wich Wich, but it sounds pretty cool.

    • ASHLEYYYYYYYYYYY, go to their website and find the nearest location. Seriously, it’s a damn good sandwich. Your first time can be a bit overwhelming but I’ll give you the Cliff’s Notes version: there are about a dozen different MAIN meat and/or specialty sandwich options and each one has their own brown paper bag. For example, TURKEY is bag #1 so if you want turkey on your buns, grab a bag that says turkey. On each bag there is a laundry list of toppings, cheeses, condiments, and such that YOU get to choose what goes on your sandwich. At the bottom, there’s a spot to write your name so when your custom sandwich is ready, someone yells out your name. If you want to be boring, be Ashley. If you want to be awesome, be Sassy Pants. Either way, enjoy that sandwich!!!!!! Oh, and the house chips are THE BEST. They’re good ole salty potato chips sprinkled with black pepper. Yummm!!!!!!

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 7:42 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  3. Which Wich?! Never heard of it here in Pennsylvania, but it sounds AMAZING!! Can I order online? hehe :-)

    • Yes Amber, as a matter of fact, you CAN order online. Check their website for locations. It’s seriously good food. Don’t be surprised if I drive 25 miles OUT OF MY WAY to get a sandwich soon. I’ve been craving my club and house chips. HAHAHAHAHA

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 8:14 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  4. That is so me! When I would have to drive to Plano, Tx to have my baby dr visits I would do the same thing– schedule around brunch or lunch time! I would go to Dickey’s BBQ or a great sandwich place Mr G’s! Oh the memories!
    Smart, girl…. wish my car was paid for .. We’ve only had that happen once.

    • Aimee, after talking about Which Wich so much, I might SERIOUSLY pack Kamden in the car and drive 25 miles just to get my turkey club and house chips. I’m having withdrawals. HAHAHAHA!!!!!!

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 8:48 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  5. Oh em gee. I had Which Wich for the first time last week when my mama came to town. First of all, it’s delicious. Second, they seriously have the BEST chocolate milk I’ve had. Ha. I don’t know if it’s only this one that makes the best but however they made it I drank ALL of it. So so so so good.

    • Yeaaaa, a lover of Which Wich. I’ve never had their chocolate milk, obviously, but they really do have the best sandwiches. All of this talk has me craving it like a mad-woman. I might get in my car and drive 25 miles to the nearest location. I’m desperate for a turkey club and house chips. HAHAHAHA!!!!

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 9:19 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  6. Don’t hate me… I have never been to Which Wich!! And there are so many in Austin!!!

    • I don’t hate you, Ruthie, but I’m seriously questioning our friendship. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!?! You must visit a Which Wich soon. Seriously. Consider it a homework assignment.

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 9:24 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  7. I’m there with you when it comes to bad tv. I love watching those shows because they remind me just how lucky I am. My life is good. I may not have a giant house but I at least have some good solid no drama friends.

  8. oh Which Wich is SO good!! I live pretty far out of the city, so the closest one is an hour away, but still very yummy!!

    • Oh Kristen, I feel for you. The nearest Which Wich is exactly 23.4 miles from my house but it takes about 25-30 minutes to get there. All this talk about it today, I’m craving it BAD!!!!!!!

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 9:53 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  9. I hate to admit that I’ve never been to Which Wich either. But, I do love me some PotBelly. And there is one within walking distance of my apartment. Also, lobster is one of my favorite foods and has turned into what we have for our anniversary dinner every year.

    • Oh Julie, we must go. I’ll take you to Which Wich if you let me come to lobster birthday dinner. HAHAHAHA I don’t think I can have Potbelly because of my milk allergy. I need to check though, it’s been a long time since I’ve eaten there.

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 9:54 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  10. Let’s see…
    1. I’m doubtful there are pay phones any more, but if so, that’d be my mom because I have her number memorized and she will ALWAYS drop everything for me no matter the circumstance. I’d feel inclined to say my husband but he’s ALWAYS at work and they won’t get him out of meetings. Well, they might if I say I’m in jail. Then, I run the risk of disconnection while listening to that AWESOME music.

    2. A new blouse. I NEVER do anything for me between having 2 teenagers, being a teacher and all I do at church. I tend to always be last in line.

    3. Anything Gordon Ramsey.

    4. Spinach and Parmesan topped tilapia with risotto. 25 min is really pushing it due to the risotto, but I can (and often do) make it happen. As a result of watching Gordon Ramsey shows, risotto has become my FAVORITE thing to eat.

    5. I wish I had realized being old was waaayyyy easier than being 25. Now, in my 40’s I pretty much don’t give a crap about much. My priorities are absolutely in order. God, family, then the rest.

  11. We have a Which Wich here…I’ve been a few times but wasn’t too impressed. There are other places where you can get a similar sandwich for cheaper.

    “Titty-milk-producing-chauffeur” made me choke on my water. Thanks!
    (I linked up!)

  12. I left off #6
    I I drove 25 miles north east, I would land smack dab in front of Mom and Dad’s house. That makes me very blessed. My mom can get to my house with OUT use of I-35 which is a WIN so she is also very blessed!!

  13. Have been meaning to join up with this link up for a while and keep forgetting. I blame preggo brain! But man oh man, why did I have to miss out on such an awesome giveaway ;)

    I haven’t been to which wich yet, but we have Silvermine Subs and I looooove them :)

    • Vanessa, there is still time to join the party! The link up (and giveaway) is “open” until June 30. JOIN THE PARTY!!!!!!!!! I’ve not even heard of Silvermine Subs, so I’m obviously missing out.

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 10:59 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  14. I’ve never heard of Which Wich either! But I checked their website and there are TWO that are about an hour away from my home! Def going to be somewhere I make a point to stop next time I’m up that way!

  15. I absolutely love that when you think pay phones you think jail!

    • Actually, I miss the good ol’ days with pay phones. I especially wish I had a rotary phone like my great-grandmother had at her house. It was pea green. I have the most old-fashioned cell phone available ….a FLIP phone!!!! I don’t text and I don’t have a desire to own a smartphone.

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 9:21 PM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  16. Glad to see I am not the only one who enjoys those reality shows.. I am a sucker for Teen Mom & 16 and Pregnant as well!

    • Molly, they are quality television!!!!! And they make me feel so much better about myself when I’m having a downer-moment. So sad, but so true!!!!!!

      On Thu, Jun 26, 2014 at 12:47 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  17. I would’ve gotten a bigger car too, if I knew just how much space babies take up! I thought I was getting a family friendly car (my last car was a mustang, so at least my jetta has 4 doors…) but the carseat barely fits. And yes to bad reality TV, I think it’s an instant pick-me-up, ego boost too ;)

    The Joni Journey

    • Our problem isn’t the infant car seat and base fitting in my Camry, it’s the next seat (the convertible car seat that Kamden will be in for several years) that concerns us. I’ve read reviews saying the seat I want does not fit in cars like Camry, Accord, or Jetta. I’m like, WHAT?!?!?! I need to go to a retailer, ask to put a floor model in the back seat to make sure it will fit before purchasing. I really want to stay with Britax for its safety and great reviews, but getting a different vehicle just to accommodate a child’s seat is ridiculous too!!!!!!!

      On Fri, Jun 27, 2014 at 10:49 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  18. Pingback: FINISH this: WEEK 25 | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,482 other followers