Three 31

Resolution Update // June 2014

10 Comments


Summer 2014 has officially started. That also means I officially have a six month old on my hands. Dear Time, please slow down. At least a little bit. I don’t feel like I’ve accomplished much this month in regards to this list. There are a couple of things I really want to do, need to do, and already have plans to do in July, so here’s to better things coming. Cheers!

BLOG RELATED
co-host a weekly link-up called “Finish This” This link-up is thriving! For Week 25, the other co-hosts and I each offered a $25 gift card to our favorite retailer for a giveaway. Pretty excited that we’ve made it 25 weeks!
attend the Texas Women Bloggers’ fashion show and silent auction
write a guest post for someone
write a monthly update for Kamden

January
February
March
April
May
June

be featured on The Wise Baby
develop relations with more bloggers Thanks to Twitter, I’m surviving pump sessions in the wee hours of the night with these new mamas – Samantha, Catalyn, Cait, and Carly.
reach 500 followers on Twitter

PHOTOGRAPHY RELATED
have professional newborn photos taken of Kamden photos taken Dec 30, 2013 by Jennifer Wynne Photography
learn Lightroom On-going process, but coming along nicely. LR is so much easier, less overwhelming than Photoshop. I’m glad I made the investment and switched!
acquire this lens
take lessons with a professional
have professional family portraits taken for our 2014 Christmas card

FOOD & DRINK
bake homemade bread in my Le Creuset loaf pan I baked Honey Butter Beer Bread and gave it to the Zachry family since I’m refraining from all alcohol while lactating. They approved of my creation. 
eat at a celebrity chef’s restaurant
prepare Kamden’s baby food purees SUCCESS! Kamden had his first bite of pureed food on May 18. I peeled, sliced, and cooked two apples then pureed with breast milk until smooth. I divided the mixture into an ice cube tray, put the tray in the freezer, and several hours later put the “cubes” into a Ziploc bag. I did the same thing with a ripe banana and avocado. Kamden loves both and I’m excited to continue exploring new foods with him. His next food introduction will be sweet potatoes. Mmmm!!!!
JUNE UPDATE: In the freezer, there are now several Ziploc bags of pureed cubes … applesauce, avocado + banana, sweet potatoes, peach + banana, kale + spinach + avocado, and blueberry + peach

create a monthly meal plan
host a dinner party
prepare a dish with curry
eat Neopolitan pizza at Cavalli Pizzeria in Irving
try a new food
JANUARY: I’ve spent more than $100 on specialty lactation products said to increase breast milk supply. I have organic rolled oats and flax seeds, essential oils, and granola mix. If milk isn’t squirting out of my nipples every time I sneeze, I’ll be disappointed.
FEBRUARY:
I found the perfect recipe for LACTATION COOKIES.

PEOPLE & PLACES TO VISIT
Thompson family reunion in Louisville, KY
Perot Science Museum in Dallas, TX

THINGS TO DO
meet with a lawyer and create our wills
open a savings account for Kamden
have my gallbladder removed and tubes tied I had surgery March 4 and the pain was worse than childbirth, especially in my shoulder from the CO2 gas used to “expand” my abdomen during the procedure. Four weeks post-op, my shoulder is tender but doctors assure me the discomfort will subside. I’m so thankful my mom was here with Husband to take care of Kamden while I recovered. I had to “pump and dump” for 24 hours but, thanks to the milk stash in the freezer, Kamden had plenty to eat.
have my DSLR professionally cleaned
renew my gym membership DONE! Renewed my gym membership on March 31, just in time to begin the #1800MinuteChallenge with Erin (@LivingInYellow) in April and May.
hire a personal trainer
wear a size 12
get fitted for a bra
plan a weekend getaway with Husband
plan an overnight girls trip
go hog hunting
compete in a shooting tournament
compete in a golf tournament Played in the Glen Lake Golf Classic on Friday, April 11 with three men from church, we shot a respectable 9-under par. We had  a lot of fun and I played much better than anticipated!
go to the eye doctor
see a dermatologist DONE! On April 10, I received a full body skin analysis and the ‘mole’ that I was most concerned about is not even a mole but rather scar tissue and poses no cancer risk. The mysterious rash that appeared the day Kamden was born is eczema and is now gone thanks to prescription steroid ointment. I was diagnosed with adult acne — not a big shock — and using a new cleanser (morning and night) and applying a prescription solution before moisturizing at night. I’ve seen improvements and will share details in a separate blog post later.
watch Jerusalem, the IMAX film
sell my car
buy a used SUV
attend a bridal shower
attend a wedding
attend a baby shower
attend a non-Christian religious event or ceremony
go to a concert
go to a musical or play
go to a college sporting event
go to a professional sporting event
take pictures for someone I have re-energized my blog and photography page — please like Three 31 Photography & Blog on Facebook — and begun taking pictures again. I took pictures for a group of high school students going to PROM, as well as family portraits of the Zachry’s. I have a few more appointments this summer scheduled too.
donate to a worthy cause
MARCH 27 — I donated my wedding dress to the NICU Helping Hands Foundation for the Angel Gowns project. You can read about my experience HERE.
APRIL 30 — I donated 367 ounces of breast milk to the Mother’s Milk Bank of North Texas.
MAY 22 — Donated 367 ounces of breast milk to MMBNT and toured the processing facility.
clean out my closet DONE! Took six LARGE garbage bags full of clothes, shoes, and unwanted household items to Goodwill on April 12.
write a letter

WISH TO HAVE
MacBook Pro
Lightroom 5 purchased April 24
square-toe cowboy boots
Warby Parker glasses

BOOKS I WANT TO READ
Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child This was an impulse purchase at 3:00am when I was trying to soothe a fussy newborn who would NOT go to sleep.
The Twelve Tribes of Hattie
Inferno
All Is Grace Rev. L suggested this right before she left for another trip to Jerusalem, which I’m pea green with envy about since she’ll be floating in the Dead Sea and eating shawarma without me. It’s a book I would have never found on my own but one I enjoyed. The author, Brennan Manning, a recovering alcoholic and former Franciscan priest, shares tales of his spiritual journey and how he has experienced God’s grace in a variety of ways in the strangest of places. ‘Tis a good read.
The Signature of All Things
Happier At Home

MONTHLY GOALS
January:
mail Kamden’s birth announcements FAIL but let me explain: we received Kamden’s birth day photos and I ordered the announcement cards last week. Hopefully, they ship soon so I can address envelopes and mail them before Valentine’s Day. Which brings me to next month’s goals……

February: Create a photo project for Valentine’s Day and send to the grandparents. DONE. Photo albums were mailed to the grandparents and two great-grandmothers on February 13. Address and mail Kamden’s birth announcements. DONE. Birth announcements were mailed to 65 friends and family on February 13. Schedule surgery to remove gallbladder and dismantle baby-making machinery. DONE. Surgery is scheduled March 4. Have 100 ounces of breast milk in the freezer by the end of the month. DONE. There are 52 bags, each containing six ounces, and, if my math is correct, that’s 312 ounces of breast milk collected in just ONE month –  I’m a machine!

March: Visit Lara in Salado. SUCCESS — Mom, Kamden, and I visited Salado United Methodist Church on March 9. Lara even used Kamden as an impromptu sermon illustration about letting go of control and having child-like faith. Her husband, Travis, prepared a delicious lunch for all of us and we spent most of the afternoon in their home visiting and talking and laughing and having a wonderful time. I miss my Rev. L, so any time I can get with her is a blessing. Send more photos of Kamden to the grandparents and great-grandmothers. DONE! Write more blog posts. Along with Kamden’s monthly updates and the weekly #FinishThis link up I co-host, I posted an anniversary tribute to Husband, a list of motherhood essentials for the first three months with baby, and some random thoughts from my Lenten journey. Instead of giving something up for 40 days, I decided to take something on and read the New Testament with #MargaretFeinberg. Celebrate our seventh anniversary with dinner and a movie. PARTIALLY SUCCESSFUL! We treated ourselves to a barbeque dinner Sunday night, the day before our anniversary, but there was no movie involved. There are movies coming out soon that I want to see though, I’ll ask Husband for a rain check!

April: Read a book to Kamden every day. FAIL. We play and interact all the time, but I don’t always read a book to him. Nominating myself for bad parent award. Purchase an outfit for Easter. I wore this dress from Old Navy. Visit a dermatologist for the rash (eczema?) on my left wrist. DONE. Visit an ophthalmologist for an eye exam. FAIL. Exercise at least 30 minutes a day, every day (#1800MinuteChallenge). Partial success – I exercised 950 minutes and went to the gym almost every week day.

May: Visit an ophthalmologist for an eye exam. FAIL, but it’s on my to-do list in June. Complete the #1800minutechallenge. Major Success — not only did I complete the 1,800 minute challenge, but I exceeded it by exercising 2,160 minutes in 60 days. Not bad, huh!? Attend Mayfest at Trinity Park in Fort Worth. Fail. Host a girls’ dinner party. Semi-success because I had dinner with a friend and her daughter, plus two of her friends, but I’ve rescheduled the girls’ night I had planned originally. Donate more breast milk. Success — I’m a pumping machine! Celebrate my first Mother’s Day. Success — Husband and Kamden made my first Mother’s Day truly special with a sweet/funny card and took me out for dinner. Complete an online tutorial for Lightroom. Success — thank goodness for Pinterest, YouTube, and photographers’ blogs with video and text tutorials! Take pictures and edit them using Lightroom. Success.

June: Visit an ophthalmologist for an eye exam. FAIL, but it’s on my to-do list in July. Introduce Kamden to the swimming pool. SUCCESS … the water was a little chilly (we went at 10:30am) but he got used to it and enjoyed it. He was more aggravated by the hat I put on him more than the water. With more visits, and warmer temperatures, he’ll enjoy it! Lose 10 pounds. Losing weight is hard work. Like most people, I pay quite a bit attention to the number on the scale and, as a result, I get disappointed when the number increases after a week of relentless exercise, fitness classes, weight circuit training, and better food choices. According to my weekly measurements in the ‘Biggest Transformation’ competition at the gym, I am losing inches. Bad news: the scale number has not changed. Good news: I’m building muscle and that weighs more than fat. Attend an “ALPHA” group exercise class at the fitness center. SUCCESS … and I lived to tell about it. Seriously, the most intense workout but totally worth the sweat. Eat clean for an entire month — no white bread, white flour, sugar, or processed foods. Semi-Success. I eliminated all white bread except for one ham sandwich when we were out of wheat bread and I also had a hamburger bun. I avoid refined sugar like the plague but I’m addicted to Nature Valley ‘Oats N Honey’ granola bars and I’m pretty sure those are considered processed since they do not grow naturally in the world. Bummer. Celebrate Husband’s first Father’s Day. SUCCESS … Husband asked for pictures of Kamden for his desk at work and I happily obliged. I also created a collage using the letters D-A-D, similar to the collage I created for myself on Mother’s Day and spelled M-O-M. Husband loved them all. How could he not when our child is so adorable and delicious?! Create layout design for a gallery wall in the living room. FAIL, but there are LOTS of new pins on my Pinterest board … does that count?! I need to go through the photos and frames I already have and start from there. A gallery wall is overwhelming but I love the look, it’s going to happen soon.

DAD.collage.small

Photo for Husband’s ***FIRST*** Father’s Day!!!!

July: Visit an ophthalmologist for an eye exam. Prepare a special dinner for Husband’s birthday. Lose five pounds. Limit myself to one granola bar a day. Get a copy of Kamden’s birth certificate and call Southwest Airlines to get details on flying with an infant as a lap-child. Have lunch/dinner with a friend. Start an editorial calendar for my blog.

Author: Nicole

Nicole is ... God's Beloved. Husband's Wife. Kamden's Mom. Breast milk donor. Wannabe Blogger + Photographer. A Kentucky girl living in Texas. Blessed beyond measure. And so much more.

10 thoughts on “Resolution Update // June 2014

  1. Oh Jesus Lord above.. that is a long list… So good job w the milk production! Be careful Borden might try and hire you ;) I’ve added you to FB.. Feel free to head on over to my House of Fauci’s page ;-) To increase your blogger relationships.. if you have not done so you should request to join the Southern Girl Blog Community! We’d love to have you… I did not realize until last week you were from or lived in Texas…

    • Thanks, Aimee! I think I am part of SGBC. Are you a founder? I’d love to get more involved somehow. I’m originally from Kentucky but live in Texas.

      On Tue, Jul 1, 2014 at 9:22 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

      • My girl, Chene is! BUT I’m helping her manage the page through the summer. If you are part of it you should link up… This fall there will some big changes so try and make it more of a bloggy relationship site vs just getting ‘numbers and hits’ to your blog site.. Check it out.

  2. Wow what a list! I always enjoy crossing things off of my own list that I make every year. It’s very fulfilling and reminds you just what you’ve accomplished. You have so much going on so good luck crossing more things off!

  3. Oh you can donate your wedding dress to the NICU? I should look into that. I have an old dress from my first marriage that I am not sure what to do with.
    Also, I’m always looking for guest posters if you’re interested. You can write about anything – my only requirement is you have to be honest. :)

    • Theresa, YES you can donate your wedding dress, bridesmaid dress, any formal gown that is white or light in color to the NICU Helping Hands project. Visit their website (*http://www.nicuhelpinghands.org/ *) for a local drop-off location. Gowns are accepted year-round and volunteer seemtresses are located around the country to turn your wedding dress into an Angel Gown for a preemie baby who does not survive. This is the saddest, most heart-breaking, yet beautiful thing I’ve done in a long time. I didn’t hesitate to give my wedding dress to them. Also, it does not matter the age of the wedding dress either. My mom, who married my dad 38 years ago, donated her gown recently as well. Each wedding dress, depending on the amount of fabric and material, makes approximately 50 Angel Gowns. It’s truly amazing!

      I will definitely take you up on the guest post offer. Thank you!!!!!

      On Tue, Jul 1, 2014 at 6:51 PM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  4. I love this list you do every month. I seriously might need to borrow this idea in 2015! (I’d say sooner but let’s be honest, the next few months I won’t have time for goals. Unless brush your teeth counts!)

    • Lexy, making this list is incredibly fun and daunting at the same time! It’s also a great way to keep me accountable all year long on goals I want to achieve. You should MOST DEFINITELY create one! Start small, if you rather, and create a monthly goal list then think bigger and better. Something else to consider ….. a YEAR IN REVIEW post. My friend and fellow blogger, Lisa, (*Coastlined *) introduced me to blogging, annual resolution lists, and the YEAR IN REVIEW post. It’s a post I look forward to every year, it’s amazing! Here is mine from 2013

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,474 other followers