Three 31

2016 Resolutions Update // May

Leave a comment


If you missed this post where I shared photos of the Tippit Family, check it out. I’m proud of the photos and even more proud of the extended family I married into and their connection to U.S. history. It’s also been an exciting week at the Hutchison Household as we celebrated Kamden’s first year of pre-school and attended the JUMPS spring program. The younger kids danced and sang their favorite songs they’ve learned in Chapel and Kamden did not disappoint …. he’s front and center, of course. At the end of the night, 36 children graduated from Pre-K. It’s hard to imagine, but Kamden will be graduating from JUMPS three years from now.

kamden jumps 2016

As for this resolution list, I have a really long way to go if I’m going to accomplish at least half of it!

FOR MYSELF

Participate in the Read Scripture project Definitely behind but I will catch up … promise!
Keep a prayer journal, such as this one
Write a few sentences every day in a journal (I already have one of these.)
Read the Bible … again (using this plan) Still behind on this too.
Learn “Inductive Bible Study” and attend a PUP course
Create one Bible Journaling page a month January: no page; February: no page; March – no page; April – no page; May – nope.
Finish Believe study SUCCESS! I finished Believe on Wednesday, May 11. It’s still hard to believe my small group has completed two year-long studies.
Forgive “S” because holding a grudge is weighing me down
Walk/Jog/Run in the Wicked Wine 5K with Mom-Tribe on March 26 FAIL – did not happen.
Get photos printed and display in our home
Utilize health coach and benefits (i.e. pedometer, reimbursements, etc.)
Wear size 16 pants

FOR OTHERS

Lead this Bible study
Start a small group
Host a meal with Mom-Tribe every month March 17 – Celebrated St. Patrick’s Day with a Toddler-Mommy party at our house.
Continue writing for Sweet Jesus Ministries Things with SJM are going very well – I feel like I have found a niche for my passions: Bible study, women’s ministries, and blog writing.
Potty train Kamden It’s hit or miss (no pun intended) with Kamden’s potty trips but he did go number two while I was away at a church conference in Ohio. It’s the first milestone I think I’ve missed – but Daddy celebrated and cleaned up the mess!
Move Kamden to a big bed SUCCESS! Kamden got a full-size bed on May 20.
Take Kamden on a train
Celebrate Husband’s 40th birthday
Donate unwanted books DONE!

FOR FUN

Find three hobbies: one to make money, one to stay in shape, and one to be creative
Host “Games with Friends” and play this, this, this, this and this!
Use Skype
Photo editing “workshop” with Becky
Sell the Camry
Save money earned from photography sessions to invest in new equipment
Publish a blog series
Go on a family vacation
Create my family tree with Ancestry dot com

MORE

Exercising
Dates with Husband
January – Husband took the day off so we could go shoot while Kamden was at school. Unfortunately, it was too cold and windy to shoot at the outdoor range and the indoor facility was reserved for a private event. But we enjoyed lunch and being alone for couple of hours.
February – no date with Husband
March – went to the gun range and ate lunch at Schlotzsky’s
April – no date
May – another trip to the gun range and lunch at Schlotzsky’s (are you beginning to notice a pattern here?!?!)

Sleeping
Picture-taking
Housekeeping and organization
Rounds of golf Played in the Glen Lake Classic (benefitting Glen Lake Camp) on April 8; my team shot 7-under (64).
Snail mail
Reading
Blogging
Meal planning (helpful printable)

MONTHLY GOALS

January – Log 1,000 minutes of exercise for the #SJM1000MinuteChallenge. FAILED. This is a big disappointment because I was the person responsible for coordinating the event with Sweet Jesus Ministries. I ended up with 865 minutes of exercise for the month of January, which is well below the goal I had for the month.

February – Embrace role as spiritual mentor. This is going well! Go to the gym three days a week or more. Semi-failure as I have been inconsistent some weeks. Coordinate small group with C8M. Fail. Start organizing “City on a Hill” event on behalf of the church. Semi-failure. I’ve only talked to a few people about volunteering.

March – I guess I didn’t set a monthly goal; whoops.

April – Obtain a sponsor for new volunteer t-shirts at church before April 15. SUCCESS – I got three (3) sponsors for the t-shirts!
This wasn’t a published goal but definitely an answered prayer: I’ve been waiting forever it seems to catch my neighbor outside with her children. We’ve passed each other on the road for 9 years but never formally introduced ourselves. I saw her in the yard and stopped and introduced myself …. and invited her to church and women’s study this summer!

May – Drink 100 ounces of water every day. Doubtful I did this every single day, but I was close. Prepare the Summer Studies Series (Bible Studies for adults) by May 20. Our summer studies have begun and are off to an incredible start. I’m leading a small group of event every Sunday afternoon as well as a larger group every Wednesday morning. Each group is compromised of different women from different backgrounds and the studies are completely different, but one thing is for sure: I could not do this life without genuine women and their friendships. I am truly blessed and they teach me more than I could EVER teach them!

June – Sell the Camry (at least get it detailed inside and out and post pictures online). Enroll Kamden in a summertime activity. Schedule a trip to Kentucky.

Author: Nicole

Born in Kentucky. Lives in Texas. Daughter of the Living God. Husband's wife. Kamden's mom. Director of Outreach and Communications at FUMC Joshua.

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!