Three 31

Me, Myself, and I (the Christmas edition)

6 Comments


Whoa, we’re just 3 days away from what the Mayans think will be the end of whatever they thought would end on 12/21/12. I’m still confused about the whole theory, but let’s get to know each other before Doomsday strikes!

MMI_permanent

Christmas, most specifically Advent, is my favorite time of year. I didn’t understand Advent until a few years ago, but it instantly changed my perspective on Christmas. Advent is the season of expectation and anticipation for the celebration of Jesus’s birth, completely opposite of the commercialized retail frenzy.

1

Since my birthday is a week before Christmas, my gifts have always been pretty spectacular. For several years, Mom and I spent a week at Disney World in Orlando, Florida. Another year, Santa surprised me with a custom set of golf clubs.

2

Spirit of Christmas by Ray Charles
(also featured on National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation)

Honorable Mentions
Little Drummer Boy | Faith Hill
Where Are You Christmas? | Faith Hill

3

Totally random but a Le Creuset Deep Dish Loaf Pan. Husband has offered to buy me an entire cookware and bake set – he’s so generous – but I don’t want to seem excessive. I’ll keep looking for a good sale and then try my hands at making homemade honey wheat bread.

loafpan

4

Growing up, my Mom and I “adopted” an angel from the Angel Tree at church. Then, we’d go shopping together to pick out clothes, books, toys, etc. according to their wish lists. Now, Husband and I continue this tradition instead of buying gifts for ourselves.

Whether I am in Texas or Kentucky, I always go to Candlelight Service at midnight on Christmas Eve. Sitting in a sanctuary filled with flickering candles and sing “O Holy Night” feels like Christmas, like I am truly experiencing the anticipated birth of my Savior.

5

WRAPPING PAPER!!!!!!! I love the different patterns and designs. Years ago, friends asked me to wrap their children’s gifts. They’d stack everything according to child (usually labeled with a Post-It note!) and I’d sneak upstairs into a room with rolls of paper, Scotch tape, scissors, curling ribbon, and name labels. It was bliss.

 

Author: Nicole

Born in Kentucky. Lives in Texas. Daughter of the Living God. Husband's wife. Kamden's mom. Director of Outreach and Communications at FUMC Joshua.

6 thoughts on “Me, Myself, and I (the Christmas edition)

  1. Glad you’re another wrapping paper fanatic! Love your stories of Christmases with your Mom. 🙂

  2. the spirit of Christmas is my favorite song! I play it over and over on my ipod. I am a gift bag kind of girl! I do not like to wrap at all.

  3. OH wrapping is my arch nemesis. My mom would get so frustrated with me because I gave up long ago being the pretty wrapper. My husband now he can wrap like no one’s business. Mary did you Know is my favorite song. Hands down. It took a few years *43* but I have learned through the loss of my mom last year that Christmas is not about the presents it is about the PRESENCE..

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!