Three 31

Spicy Pulled Pork

10 Comments


As much as I enjoy being in my kitchen, there are times when it is simply impossible. Life happens in the form of school meetings, mid-week Bible studies, blog post writing, book club gatherings, and travel itineraries. It’s during these times I am thankful for a Crock-Pot or Dutch oven. Husband is appreciative because he likes to have my home-cooked meals even when I am not at home.

One of my favorite dishes is spicy pulled pork. It’s easy to prepare and provides lots of leftovers. We have meals for a couple of days or freeze and keep for an upcoming gathering like book club or dinner party. Growing up, my mom made this dish by slow-cooking pork in Coca-Cola. Then, she poured my Dad’s family’s secret BBQ sauce over the meat and assemble mini-sandwiches. When I took a bite, sauce ran down my chin making the biggest, most delicious mess.

Spicy Pulled Pork Sandwiches
1 bone-in Boston Butt (pork roast), 6-8lbs
1 can Chilpotle (adobo) peppers
1 onion, peeled and quartered
2 tablespoons garlic, minced
4 tablespoons brown sugar
4 tablespoons molasses
6-8 cups Dr.Pepper

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Rinse and pat dry the roast, set aside. In Crock-pot or Dutch oven (with tight-fitting lid), arrange onion pieces on the bottom of the pan. Massage brown sugar into the meat, covering all sides. Set roast inside the pan and add garlic, peppers, and molasses. Pour Dr. Pepper over meat. Cover with lid and bake for six (6) hours, or until bone comes out easily.

To shred the meat, use a stand mixer with paddle attachment — I learned this on Pinterest!!!! While meat is hot, place large pieces (minus fat and gristle) inside mixing bowl. With paddle attachment, “mix” for 20-30 seconds until meat is shredded. Transfer to a large dish and repeat until all of the meat is shredded. Allow cooking liquid to cool and discard grease. Return meat to the strained cooking liquid and heat until warm. Serve on buttered buns.

2pork butt

Start with a pork shoulder roast ….. or Boston butt roast …. or bone-in pork roast … whatever you want to call it. Boneless roasts are available (and usually cost less), but I prefer bone-in.

3ingredients

Chilpotle peppers have a great smoky flavor and add lots of spice. Don’t worry though, the sugar and molasses do not make the meat overly sweet. If you prefer a mild taste, use fewer whole peppers and discard the adobo sauce.

6roast with peppers

Does this look like heaven in a pan or what?! That pork roast is singing the Hallelujah chorus. I pour the entire can of peppers and adobo sauce on top. Add molasses and you’ve got a seriously handsome piece of swine. 🙂

10looking good

After six hours, the bone slides right out and the meat is perfectly cooked. Discard peppers and onions, plus fat and gristle, then shred the meat. You can shred with two forks (if you have nothing else to do for 3 hours) or use a stand mixer with paddle attachment.

13that looks good

Oh my …. THAT is a sandwich! I toast buttered buns, top with pork, and drizzle more sauce on top. The messier the better. For side dishes, I usually serve these spicy sandwiches with something creamy and cool like potato salad or cole slaw.

Bon appetit!

Please visit me at Three 31 and on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

2013

Author: Nicole

Born in Kentucky. Lives in Texas. Daughter of the Living God. Husband's wife. Kamden's mom. Director of Outreach and Communications at FUMC Joshua.

10 thoughts on “Spicy Pulled Pork

  1. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Labor Day Yummies - Texas Women Bloggers

  2. I. Ain’t. Skeeerd. Of. Greg. Edwards! hahahahahah :’)

    I will definately let you know how it turns out. I hope to cook it this weekend. 🙂
    Love you too!

  3. I’m cooking this soon!!!!!!! Sounds YuMMo!!!!!! And since “Dad” doesn’t want the family BBQ recipe given out over the www, feel free to email it to me. …and he’ll never know. HeeHee 😉

    • Oh my word, Whitney, did you read his comment on this blog post? He threatened to pull out every head on my head …… do you know how thick my hair is?! Do you know how bad that would hurt?! Do you know how long that would take the old man?! Seriously, he’s got some serious artillery, I’m keeping that recipe secret. HAHAHAHAHA

      This recipe is delicious and so easy to make, I hope you enjoy it. Let me know how it turns out. Big hugs! Love you! 🙂

  4. Yuuuuuum! You forgot one thing…my invitation!

    I think I would have to use less chipotle and adobo. That stuff’s HOT for a weenie like me!

    • Celeste, you are so right ……. I need to invite the Zachry’s to dinner at my house. We’ll do that soon, PROMISE. Pinky swear. Consider it on my goal list. 🙂

      p.s. I’ll make this recipe and tone down the spice, even though it’s not really THAT bad. hehehe

  5. lol.. to your dad’s comment. Your mom made this for us when we visited with them couple summers ago.. it is mouth watering. She is an excellent cook, so is your dad. I’m sure that is where your talent lies.. I just might make this and invite our neighbors over for dinner. They had us over (we are in campground in fl for the winter) for dinner couple nights after we arrived.. i’ve been trying to think what i could make.. This sounds like an excellent idea.. Thanks for the motivation.. hugs

    • Wilma, you should read my reply to Dad’s comment. While I know the depth of my father’s love is endless, I have no doubt that he would pull every curly hair off my head one-by-one if I pulled a stupid stunt like that. LOL

      In all seriousness, this pork is amazingly tasty. Depending on the size of the roast you get, you can feed a crowd or the entire U.S. Army. Plus, it’s easy to freeze and save for another time. Enjoy! Let me know how it turns out.

      Hugs. 🙂

  6. If you decide to give out the family BBQ ingredients, your Mother and I will make the trip to Texas to pull all your hair out, one strand at a time!!!!!!!!!! Love you….

    • While it is inticing to get you back to Texas, I can assure you that recipe is safe and sound. I might lose a marble or two every now and then — maybe several of them all at once — but I know the artillery that awaits my arrival at Shady Grove if I pulled a stupid stunt like that. No way Jose!!!!! 🙂

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!