Three 31

Resolution Update | April

15 Comments


Four down, eight to go.

BLOG RELATED
meet 5 bloggers in person DFW Bloggers’ Spring Meet Up was Saturday, April 27 in Fort Worth, hosted by Yours Truly =)
build relationships with bloggers Becky, Kimberly, Taylor, Julie, and Becka
host or co-host a link-up
participate in a link-up once a month Oh-So-Pinteresting Sunday Social with Neely @ A Complete Waste of Makeup; Favorite Books for Blogger Book Swap; and All About Me link-up prior to DFW Bloggers’ Spring Meet Up
host a sponsored giveaway
host or co-host a swap   Co-hosting the Preview To Summer Blogger Book Swap
be a guest writer on someone’s blog I created this page to showcase my guest posts.

FOOD & DRINK
make sweet pickles using Neenie’s recipe
make homemade bread {without the bread machine}
make the perfect omelet
prepare and deliver a meal to a local fire station
eat at a celebrity chef’s restaurant
attend a gourmet cooking class
attend a Sushi making class April 8 at Sushi Yoko in Fort Worth

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES
participate in the Great Day of Service
serve the homeless at a local soup kitchen
build a home with Habitat for Humanity
go on a mission trip

PEOPLE / PLACES TO VISIT
Holy Land (Israel)
Lisa in Virginia
Jacquelyn in Texas
Margaret in Colorado

THINGS TO SEE
a performance at Bass Hall concert featuring Natalie Merchant with the Fort Worth Symphony on April 13
a midnight movie premiere
movie at a drive-in theater
college football game
professional athletic event

THINGS TO DO
a monthly “date” with Husband April 12 – Husband and I went to the gun range. I shot the .220 Swift really well.
create a portfolio for Three 31 Photography  
journal at least 3 days a week wrote in journal 26 of 30 days
get a full-time job
frame the print from Lisa DeNoia Photography
complete Laity Development Training
write a letter to an editor
go wild hog hunting
attend a baby shower
attend a wedding
attend a religious service different from my own
go to a Texas-specific festival
go to a comedy show
take a course for Photoshop editing
finish my novel
have Girls’ Nights at least once a quarter sushi class, Natalie Merchant concert at Bass Hall, Main Street Arts Festival, and DFW Bloggers Spring Meet Up 
play in a golf tournament
read Gone With The Wind
sell my car

WISH LIST
spa facial every 6-8 weeks microderm Feb 9 + March 2 + April 13
square-toe cowboy boots
unique necklace
Warby Parker glasses
TOMS shoes
a battery for my watch
a pretty camera bag
Oakley sunglasses
Le Creuset loaf pan

MONTHLY RESOLUTIONS

January – organize a group to read Wonderstruck by Margaret Feinberg Purchased the DVD study.

February – edit photos from Holy Land Done. create, order, and mail a secret project Recipients should receive their gift before Easter (March 31). finalize Wonderstruck small group EPIC FAIL. schedule a paid photo shoot FAIL.

March – share Holy Land photos Partially done. Annual well-woman exam Done. Annual eye doctor (new contacts + eyeglass fitting) FAIL. Begin Wonderstruck small group FAIL. Schedule another Photoshop lesson with Sean FAIL. Schedule/Shoot/Edit/Deliver photos to clients Somewhat successful in that I delivered photos to a group of young ladies, but also somewhat of a FAILURE because I have yet to schedule another shoot with anyone. Mail the “secret project” by March 20 SUCCESS. I created an Easter card with photos from the Holy Land. I did not send Christmas cards last year, so this was my attempt to redeem brownie points. If you received my Easter card, did you like it?

April – correctly choose the winner of the men’s NCAA basketball tournament SUCCESS! The University of Louisville men’s basketball team, coached by Rick Pitino, won the 2013 NCAA Championship. survive STAAR testing days at school Barely, but I did it. practice Photoshop Epic fail. host DFW Bloggers’ Spring Meet Up HUGE SUCCESS and schedule a trip someplace Failed.

May – Honestly, I just want to fast forward to June. At school, I have small group tutoring (all day!) for students who failed the STAAR Reading exam every Monday and Friday until May 13 (which means I am tutoring while another sub is in my classroom); students who are not in tutoring are working on research projects; and the eighth grade field trip is May 17 to an arcade and bowling alley in Fort Worth. I forgot to mention that students who failed the math portion of the STAAR test are in small group tutoring every Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday until May 14. Essentially, that means that the students who failed BOTH tests will not be in my regular language arts classroom until May 16. Yes, welcome to the wonderful world of teaching and state-mandated testing.

June –
July –
August –
September –
October –
November –
December –

2013

Author: Nicole

Born in Kentucky. Lives in Texas. Daughter of the Living God. Husband's wife. Kamden's mom. Director of Outreach and Communications at FUMC Joshua.

15 thoughts on “Resolution Update | April

  1. Can any of the things on the wish list be gifted or do they need to be new, new?

  2. Wow! I am impressed! It’s awesome and admirable that you are able to be so goal oriented!

    • Thank you! I was inspired to create this list by another friend and blogger who has done this for 10 years. It keeps me accountable and aspires me to have big goals for myself! =)

  3. Im beyond upset I did not get to meet you so I say we plan a coffee date 🙂

    • Neely, that sounds like a plan ….. as long as I can drink tea or water. I’m NOT a coffee drinker!!!! hahahaha Missed seeing you last Saturday, hope your Dad had a fabulous birthday. =)

  4. My LIST consists of trying to get at least a couple of blog posts up this week….I am such a slacker!!!!! Whereas, you are a ROCKSTAR! I am not worthy. I would LOVE to do the drive in. Keep me posted if that happens!

    • Oh please, I am anything BUT a rockstar. Did you see my goal for May? I just want to skip to June. How sad is that?! Seriously, I would break down and cry and kick and scream and stress about school, but ain’t nobody got time for that. There’s too much to do! There’s re-testing to be done! There’s research projects to finish and grade! There’s technology projects to grade and turn in! There is an eighth grade field trip! There’s so much! Ahhhhhh

      As for the drive-in, I will totally keep you posted. The next time I see a deal on Groupon, I’ll get one. Perhaps we can get a blogger group together. I know Sarah (Dash of Sarah) is in too. FUN!

  5. Did you read the posting on FB about the farmer trying to fatten his pigs by weighing them? Excellent testing analogy written by a guy in FTW – not sure if he’s a teacher or admin. Teacher, more likely. I shared it so it’s on my timeline. Soooo great.

  6. Girl, your resolution list puts mine to shame! Haha. Way to go for getting out there and making to most of each month/week/day, etc! And you are SO right in saying that the meet-up was a success! 🙂 I have also wanted to see a drive-in movie… you’ll have to let me know how it goes!

    • Sarah, we should have a mini-get-together and head to Granbury for a drive-in movie. They’re often offering special deals on Groupon and we could easily “round up” a group of 6 of 8 bloggers for a fun night of movies. Let’s make this happen!!!!!!

  7. 1. When you are ready to sell your car, let me know first. 😉
    2. What spa are you using for your facials?
    3. I saw a bunch of pickles (at least they were green) sitting on your floor…did you do those or someone else?
    4. I would totally do a gourmet cooking class with you & eat at a celebrity chef’s restaurant. I ate a Tim Love’s “love shack” in the Stockyards a week ago…it’s outdoor style with a walk up counter 🙂

    • Taylor, I love you to pieces. 1. I’m ready to sell my car – our adventure to Fort Worth is the farthest I’ve driven it in over a month. Seriously, I drive it 6 miles to school every day. 2. Sharlyn @ Mansfield Laser Center (817-453-3444). Found her through Groupon but she is offering the same deal to anyone who calls: 4 microderm sessions for $99. It’s not that far of a drive, the office is on the southwest side of Mansfield, between Methodist Hospital and Highway 287 on Broad Street. Give her a call, tell her I sent you, and she’ll get you set up. It doesn’t take long but I’ve noticed a big improvement in my skin’s texture and complexion, plus I love having microderm done and my face feels so CLEAN afterwards! I’m thinking of stepping up to the next level and getting a chemical peel soon, maybe in May before the start of summer. 4. Let’s find a class and do it. As for the celebrity chef’s restaurant, I’ve not been to Love Shack but I love, love, LOVE Tim Love. Such a down-to-earth guy, and a great chef!

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!