Three 31

Finish This #20

16 Comments


Welcome to Week 20 of Finish This! If you’re new to these parts, welcome. This link-up is hosted by LISA (COASTLINED), JEN (The Arizona Russums), BECKY (The Java Mama) and I and we’re so glad you’re here. If you’ve joined us before, thanks for returning! Be sure to add your post to the link-up. If you don’t have a blog, don’t worry. Simply answer the prompts in a comment. Next week’s prompts are at the bottom of this post.

* * * THREE REQUESTS FROM THE CO-HOSTS * * *
1. Invite a blogger to join the Finish This link up.
2. Comment on at least five (5) blog posts from this week’s link up.
3. Share on social media using the hashtag #FinishThis.

Check out our new link up image created by Becky, one of our fabulous co-hosts!

FINISHTHIS.linkupbutton

 

1. My favorite recipe is …
Cornbread. I start with a preheated, scorching hot iron skillet. I use Jiffy cornbread mix and add one egg, a quarter-cup of soy milk, two heaping tablespoons of Hellman’s mayonnaise (yes, you read that correctly), and a tablespoon of my parent’s homemade corn relish and pepper relish. If I’m feeling extra frisky, I’ll add crumbled cooked bacon and diced jalapenos. Sprinkle paprika on top (to make it fancy, ya know?!), bake 20-25 minutes, then slather a big ol’ piece with butter. It’ll make you smack your Momma.

2. I believe in …
God, the Father, Son, and Spirit. Sending thank you notes. Saying please and thank you. Front-porch sittin’. Flirting with Husband. Serving food that’s homemade and prepared with love. People, though too many have hurt or taken advantage of me. Which leads me to:

3. I need to set boundaries …
with my time because — You have to say no to a lot of good things in order to be able to say yes to a lot of great things. And in my friendships because — someone I thought was a friend proved, time after time, that they didn’t value or support me.

4. I began living when …
when Kamden was born.

Now it’s your turn. Answer these prompts in a post on your own blog or, if you do not have a blog, simply add your responses in a comment. Join us next Wednesday for another round of Finish This where we’ll answer the prompts below!

Prompts for WEEK 21 (May 28) are:
The best mistake I ever made …
From this mistake, I learned …
When I’m anxious, I tell myself …
All I really want to do is …

Author: Nicole

Born in Kentucky. Lives in Texas. Daughter of the Living God. Husband's wife. Kamden's mom. Director of Outreach and Communications at FUMC Joshua.

16 thoughts on “Finish This #20

  1. I need to get a cast iron skillet, I’ve never used one but everything looks so good when cooked in them! It’s amazing how having a child will light a fire under your butt and get you to living isn’t it??? ha ha!

  2. I have never been a cornbread person, but you have totally made me wanna try yours!!! just a lil flight to texas from vegas.. lol. & I am trying to set the same kind of friend boundaries as well.. Us nice people tend to get taken advantage of because we do not like to say no to people. At least that is how I am. But having boundaries set is definitely important and something I am learning to have with certain people who have proved to me that they need it. It is just so hard, ya know.

  3. So when is dinner? I’ll be right over. That corn bread sounds amazing! I believe in the same things too as long as sweet tea is involved!

  4. I second all these thoughts on the cornbread, I may steal it myself! Sounds great!

  5. My favorite recipe is … Homemade chicken soup. I love soups! I could eat chicken soup everyday. Seriously ask my family they get so tired of me and my chicken needs. Happy to say my kiddo loves it too so Im fullfilled!

    I believe in … dream warnings. If I have a nightmare about someone getting hurt I have to warn them because if not something bad seems to happen. theres also good dreams like dreaming of babies and next thing you know a baby is on his way.

    I need to set boundaries … with computer time. im addicted to my laptops!

    I began living when … I had my son. he showed me what true love really is.

  6. I love your believe ins! Heartwarming!

  7. The cornbread has my mouth watering and I don’t normally care for it!

  8. I think I’m going to have to try your cornbread recipe! I love some good cornbread 🙂

  9. I can relate to time and friends. I would rather have one or two really great friends than a whole bunch of so so people in my life. I’ve learned to really value the true friends who are always there and know me through and through. I’m sorry you had someone hurt you.

  10. Yes… time… especially as a mommy!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Love your comment on boundaries it’s perfect. And I usually hate cornbread but that sounds really good!

  12. Oh em gee… I am a corn bread fanatic and it is one of my many weaknesses. I used to be able to cook it and it taste good but I have lost my touch. There is restaurant we visit and oh geez… they have the best UNLIMITED cornbread!

  13. Now I am craving cornbread! Great recipe. I will have to try it this weekend!

  14. I might be packing my bags and heading to Texas to try that cornbread!! It sounds amazing. Good cornbread doesn’t exist in these Northern States!!

  15. “It’ll make you smack your Momma” Bwahhahha this made me laugh out loud! HAHA! Loved all the things you believe in. 🙂

  16. I hope I have never made you feel hurt or taken advantage of. I would never want you to feel ANYTHING other than valued, loved, and appreciated because that’s exactly how I feel about you.

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!