Three 31

Finish This #23

16 Comments


Welcome to Week 23 of Finish This! This link-up is hosted by LISA (COASTLINED), JEN (The Arizona Russums), BECKY (The Java Mama) and I and we’re so glad you’re here. If you’ve joined us before, thanks for returning! Be sure to add your post to the link-up. If you don’t have a blog, don’t worry. Simply answer the prompts in a comment. Next week’s prompts are at the bottom of this post.

BIG ANNOUNCEMENT FROM THE CO-HOSTS …

Something special is planned for Week #25 of Finish This,
but you have to wait to find out what it is. Be sure to invite your fellow
blogging friends to join this link-up each week.
In the meantime, update your blog post with this lovely new image created by Becky.

FINISHTHIS.linkupbutton

 

1. The best compliment I ever received …
oh I don’t know. That my five-month-old is well behaved in church. My trainer high-fived me after losing six pounds in a week. The food I prepare might result in your mother getting smacked.

2. Wearing red lipstick makes me feel …
like an idiot. Wearing any color of lipstick makes me feel ridiculous. I rarely wear lip gloss, so lipstick is above and beyond my comfort level!

3. The best investment I’ve made …
is in myself, especially lately. After going to the gym, every week day religiously since April, I finally – FINALLY – seeing results. In fact, in the last eight days, I’ve lost six (SIX!) pounds. That’s pretty incredible, especially for a breastfeeding (exclusively pumping) mama who is hungry and thirsty all the time. 🙂

4. My best childhood memory …
I have lots of wonderful memories from my childhood, but this is one of my favorites and still talked about today! Okay, let me set the scene for you: I’m 8 or 9 years old, driving a golf cart around our property, and there is a swing set behind the house. Behind the swing set is a hill with a line of fruit trees. One particular day, I was feeling (extra) frisky and figured out how to slide since the grass was wet with dew. I’d build up speed, hit the brake, and see how far I could slide. That was fun on level ground, but then I got the marvelous idea that I should build up more speed by cruising down the incline behind the house. Perfect idea. An even better idea: go fast, hit brake, and slide towards the swing set without hitting it. Genius! I accepted my own challenge. First attempt: too short. Second attempt: close, but not close enough. Now, unbeknownst to me, this was about the time my dad had ventured to the back porch to witness my golf cart shenanigans. For my third attempt, I decided to take the long way around the house. I went down the hill by the walk-out basement, back up towards the fruit trees, turned past the willow tree, and down the hill towards the swing set. CRASH! Yep, next thing I know, the bottom of the slide is all up on the dash of the golf cart (there is no window). My first thought: cool! My second: oh sh*t, that left a skid mark in the paint! My third: I hope nobody saw that! (Unbeknownst to me, Dad witnessed my golf-cart-meets-slide-maneuver, then went quietly back in the house.) More than 20 years later, my parents still tell this story with a smile on their face. With the exception of the scuff mark on the brand new paint, I was pretty proud of my ability to slide about 30 feet in the golf cart. The slide joining me in the driver’s seat was a cherry on top.

Now it’s your turn. Answer these prompts in a post on your own blog or, if you do not have a blog, simply add your responses in a comment. Join us next Wednesday for another round of Finish This where we’ll answer the prompts below!

Prompts for WEEK 24 (June 18) are:
I could spend all day …
My primary and most essential goal in life …
You might be surprised to learn …
My favorite place in the world is …
I wish I had known sooner …

Author: Nicole

Born in Kentucky. Lives in Texas. Daughter of the Living God. Husband's wife. Kamden's mom. Director of Outreach and Communications at FUMC Joshua.

16 thoughts on “Finish This #23

  1. Really love your writing prompts. It’s a good way to escape writer’s block. My, we’re the same. I also feel like an idiot when I wear red lipstick. I feel like it’s going to smudge on my teeth anytime soon.

    • Oh Jade, you are not alone in the lipstick situation. I hate wearing that crap anyway, no matter the color!!!!!!! Glad to have you join us for the link up. 🙂

      On Thu, Jun 12, 2014 at 9:31 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  2. I love to hear how well behaved children are at church. I am lucky to attend church with some of the best children I have ever met. And a five month old? Too awesome! I’d compliment you, too. What’s your secret? 🙂

    • Thanks, Kristin. My secret is I really don’t have a secret. Kamden is a wonderful baby, very mild-mannered and content as long as too things happen: he gets food (breast milk by bottle) and sleep. He’s actually more fussy when he’s tired than hungry, the kid LOVES his sleep! As far as church goes, he’s been going every Sunday since he was a month old. There are lots of “granny” and “Auntie” figures that love to hold and cuddle and squeeze his chubby cheeks, which of course he loves. He has fussed once during service and that was due to a VERY dirty diaper!!!!

      On Wed, Jun 11, 2014 at 2:20 PM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  3. SIC POUNDS!!! You are a rockstar girl! And a high-five from a trainer is an awesome feeling! I LOL’d reading your golf cart story! too funny!!!

  4. WOW that golf cart story had me hanging on! I was scared… The entire time I kept thinking it was going to flip but then I had to remind myself of the initial question.

    • Oh Lord, I would have been sick if I had been dumb enough to flip that golf cart. And my Dad most definitely would NOT have stuck around on the porch to watch my shenanigans. He would have buried me if I had wrecked that cart. It was bad enough I put a scratch in the brand new custom paint. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!

      On Wed, Jun 11, 2014 at 9:04 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  5. Yay for seeing results at the gym!!! I’m so happy for you.

  6. Love the golf cart story I will have to share my paint can story with ya sometime.

  7. 4. My dad’s older BROTHER

  8. School is out, so here goes:
    1. Not sure…14 years ago, in Kansas, a man followed me out of the grocery store to tell me I was the most beautiful woman he’d ever seen. That’s all he wanted and for me to have a nice day.

    Years later being told I’m the best teacher someone’s ever had…

    2. Elegant.

    3. My best investment was DEFINITELY in my husband. He was a big risk that paid off nicely.

    4. My dad’s older uncle, who I adore, took me, my little brother and 2 younger cousins on an adventure down the river at Dinosaur Valley. It’s a fantastic place to visit and take Kamden when he can walk WELL. As algae has grown in much of the calcified tail tracks, we slipped and slid all along the way, falling into the water having a grand time but it was a long walk. Uncle Butch decided to climb out of the river bottom close to where he knew the car would be. It was quite the climb UP. No problem for the old man; he reached down to help me up first. There we were, leaving the littles down (they were probably 8ish) in the river bed. None of them liked our shorter walk option and refused to put their arms up so he could reach down and grab them UNTIL Uncle Butch said, “Then, walk back through the slippery river.”

    All I could see was six little hands ready to be lifted up onto the ground! Hilarious!

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!