Three 31

Finish This #22

15 Comments


Welcome to Week 22 of Finish This! This link-up is hosted by LISA (COASTLINED), JEN (The Arizona Russums), BECKY (The Java Mama) and I and we’re so glad you’re here. If you’ve joined us before, thanks for returning! Be sure to add your post to the link-up. If you don’t have a blog, don’t worry. Simply answer the prompts in a comment. Next week’s prompts are at the bottom of this post.

BIG ANNOUNCEMENT FROM THE CO-HOSTS …

Something special is planned for Week #25 of Finish This,
but you have to wait to find out what it is. Be sure to invite your fellow
blogging friends to join this link-up each week.
In the meantime, update your blog post with this lovely new image created by Becky.

FINISHTHIS.linkupbutton

 

1. I conquer fear …
by avoiding it? I’m not quite sure how to answer this because I’m not an adrenaline junky, I don’t wake up in the mornings looking for ways to scare myself, but, at the same time, I will venture out of my comfort zone when the time is right. I’ll ride just about any roller coaster, but Ferris wheels kind of freak me out. And you know those cable cars hanging from a wire that take people from the bottom of a mountain to the top? Yeah, I’m not a fan of those either. Glass-surrounded elevators? Meh, not so much. I’ve climbed to the top of Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, but my knees were like jelly walking around on the observation deck. I love to fly, and I want to tour Hawaii by helicopter, but you’ll never see me jump out of a plane to skydive. I guess you could say I have a fear of heights. And creepy-crawling things.

2. I follow my heart …
by serving others. Whether that is donating excess breast milk to the Mother’s Milk Bank of North Texas, or mission trips to Haiti, or volunteering at church.

3. I feed my soul by …
going to church, serving on mission trips, donating breast milk to NICU babies, reading a good book, sending an email or snail-mail note to a friend, floating in water, sharing a homemade meal with people I love, and being Husband’s wife and Kamden’s mommy. My heart is full, my soul is fed. I am blessed.

4. I used to worry about ____ but then I …
I used to worry about my WEIGHT but then I stopped worrying, stopped ignoring the obvious, stopped making excuses, and started doing something about it. I’ve struggled with weight since I was a teenager. During my junior year of high school, at the peak of my competitive junior golfing career, I lost 75 pounds by diligently exercising 5-6 days a week, in addition to the intense training and golf lessons with a PGA professional three days a week. I went from a size 16 to a size 10. I was incredibly stronger and had a defined waistline, I wasn’t embarrassed to wear shirts tucked into my shorts or pants either!

Nicole.2002.small

Nicole and Noah (cousin) in 2002

In May 2013, when I found out I was pregnant, it was the reality check I needed to get in shape and improve my overall health, not just for me but for our unborn baby as well. Turns out, I lost 36 pounds during my pregnancy by eliminating caffeine, sugar (even sweet tea – gasp!), and fried foods. I also joined the gym. I’ll never be supermodel thin, and I eat relatively well, but I tend to eat like every meal is my last. I’m making better choices every day. I’m not saying every day is easy, it’s a constant struggle, but I have a supportive husband, family and friends; an amazing fitness trainer, and a little boy who needs his Mommy to be as healthy as she can be every single day. During April and May, I participated in a #1800minutechallenge, meaning my goal was to exercise 1,800 minutes in 60 days. I surpassed that goal by exercising 2,160 minutes! I began a 10-week “Biggest Transformation” competition at the fitness center this week. It’s similar to Biggest Loser.  My trainer, Jessica, took initial measurements of my arms, chest, waist, and thighs two weeks ago and I’ve lost an inch around my waist and a half-inch in my arms. Hard work is beginning to pay off ….. but I must keep going!

Now it’s your turn. Answer these prompts in a post on your own blog or, if you do not have a blog, simply add your responses in a comment. Join us next Wednesday for another round of Finish This where we’ll answer the prompts below!

Prompts for WEEK 23 (June 11) are:
 The best compliment I ever received …
Wearing red lipstick makes me feel …
The best investment I’ve made …
My best childhood memory …

Author: Nicole

Born in Kentucky. Lives in Texas. Daughter of the Living God. Husband's wife. Kamden's mom. Director of Outreach and Communications at FUMC Joshua.

15 thoughts on “Finish This #22

  1. I love the ways you feed your soul!!
    You remind me in that picture a lot our friend Eileen, its kind of funny
    You are amazing Nicole btw!

  2. Sigh I skipped this week… BUT I will be back next week.. You can run but you can’t hide.. hee hee.. WOW 75 pounds.. that is freaking awesome and… dun dun dun… I just picked up you are preggers again… WOW.. Try to get a good nap before this next baby is born 😉

    • Ummmm, maybe I should clarify “last May” is May 2013. I am NOT pregnant. Kamden will be an only child as my gallbladder was removed and tubes tied in March 2014. But thanks for the congratulations. HAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

      On Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 10:21 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  3. I’m not a big adrenaline junky either. And I’m not big on heights. I love roller coasters but I was nervous walking around the Grand Canyon.

    • Oh I would LOVE the Grand Canyon, as long as I didn’t have to scale the edge or walk on the clear-bottom bridge. The company I used to work for designed that pedestrian bridge across the canyon. I seriously doubt I could walk across it. HA!!!!

      On Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 10:04 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  4. Congratulations on your hard work paying off! Sometimes I find it hard to stick with exercise and intense workouts when I don’t see the results I want. I’m so glad you are sticking with it and actually seeing results.

    • Thank you, Ashley. It’s definitely a daily “chore” and decision to get my butt to the gym, but once I’m there it feels great, especially after an intense class or workout. Plus, I have a wonderful trainer and if I’m not there she will hunt me down. HA! But it’s really great for me, keeps me accountable and Kamden is safe/comfortable/happy in the children’s center with Miss Pam too. That puts my mind at ease so I can concentrate on my body and health for an hour or two every day. Totally worth it!!!!!

      On Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 8:48 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  5. I think your awesome for participating in that challenge I need some motivation! I have baby weight from at least three babies left over! Ugh! I think I will definitely be cutting out sugar and caffeine though sounds like a great plan.

  6. My goodness! I didn’t know you were a stellar golfer! That’s awesome and way to go to push yourself with your Biggest Transformation Program. Having the support to make changes sometimes can make all the difference in the world! i just wish eating pop tarts and drinking soda was the equivalent of carrots and water 🙂 Keep it up my dear!! Like you said, one day at a time!

    • Yeah, I wasn’t too shabby on the links way back in the day. At the height of my junior career, a friend and fellow competitor and I juggled between first and second in the state of Kentucky. She’d win a tournament one week and go to the top spot, then I’d win the next week and take it over. We literally switched back and forth an entire season. Good times. HA! I swear, Pop Tarts are making an adulthood comeback. You are literally the FOURTH person this week who has mentioned eating Pop Tarts. Cracks. Me. Up. What is your favorite flavor? I love the frosted brown sugar and cinnamon and frosted strawberry. But I haven’t had a Pop Tart in ages. I’d probably go into sugar coma if I tried to eat one now. LOL

      On Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 6:47 AM, Three 31 wrote:

      >

  7. awesome job with the 1800 minute challenge! I totally feel you on this. I wish I could be more comfortable in my own skin. It’s something I struggle with daily. But I just keep plugging along – I’m a work in progress. LOL

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!