Three 31

2013 Resolutions

47 Comments


Happy New Year and Welcome to 2013

This is the second year I’ve made a resolutions list. Inspired by Lisa, this list is organized into categories that, I hope, will make it easier to read and follow my progress.I expect 2013 to be a great year, even though I’ll turn the big three-oh in December. {sigh} In addition to the things I want to accomplish/do/acquire, I’m also challenging myself to monthly goals.

In 2013, I will:

BLOG RELATED
meet new 5 bloggers in person
host or co-host a link-up
host at least one sponsored giveaway
be a guest writer on someone’s blog

FOOD & DRINK
make sweet pickles using Neenie’s recipe
make homemade bread {without the bread machine}
make the perfect omelet
prepare and deliver a meal to a local fire station
eat at a celebrity chef’s restaurant
attend a gourmet cooking class
attend a Sushi making class

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES
participate in the Great Day of Service
serve the homeless at a local soup kitchen
build a home with Habitat for Humanity
go on a mission trip

PEOPLE / PLACES TO VISIT
Holy Land (Israel)
Lisa in Virginia
Jacquelyn in Texas
Margaret in Colorado

THINGS TO SEE
a performance at Bass Hall
a midnight movie premiere
movie at a drive-in theater
college football game
professional athletic event

THINGS TO DO
a monthly “date” with Husband
create a portfolio of photographs I’ve taken
journal at least 3 days a week
get a full-time job
professionally frame the print from Lisa DeNoia Photography
complete Laity Development Training
write a letter to an editor
go wild hog hunting
attend a baby shower
attend a wedding
attend a religious service different from my own
go to a Texas-specific festival
go to a comedy show
take a course for Photoshop editing
finish my novel
have Girls’ Nights at least once a quarter
play in a golf tournament
read Gone With The Wind
sell my car

WISH LIST
spa facial every 6-8 weeks
square-toe cowboy boots
unique necklace
Warby Parker glasses
TOMS shoes
a battery for my watch
a pretty camera bag
Oakley sunglasses
Le Creuset loaf pan

MONTHLY RESOLUTIONS
January – organize a group to read Wonderstruck by Margaret Feinberg
February –
March –
April –
May –
June –
July –
August –
September –
October –
November –
December –

What do you think of my list? Good? Bad? Ridiculous?

Are you creating a list of resolutions for 2013? If so, leave a comment and tell me about it!

2013

Author: Nicole

Born in Kentucky. Lives in Texas. Daughter of the Living God. Husband's wife. Kamden's mom. Director of Outreach and Communications at FUMC Joshua.

47 thoughts on “2013 Resolutions

  1. Pingback: RESOLUTIONS // 2015 | Three 31

  2. Pingback: 2014 Resolutions | Three 31

  3. Pingback: Sushi Making 101 | Three 31

  4. Beautiful list Nicole! I just started doing my own bucket list. I am preparing for a career in the fire department, working out even more then I ever have, staying close to friends and family, started my own blog (withoutdad.wordpress.com), and more! I am turning the big 3-0 myself this year in April. Time live big and live fun! Let’s not hope we can, let’s do this!

  5. I love that you want to attend a sushi-making class & included it on your list! It’s something I’d really like to do too. I have several friends who make their own sushi but it just seems like a lot of work! For now, it’s the cheap sushi place in my neighborhood for me!

    • Hey Jennifer! The “Central Market” in Fort Worth provides various types of cooking classes, including sushi-making and I really want to do that this year. I completely agree with you about all the work to be done at home though, I’d much rather go to my favorite sushi restaurant and let Sushi Sam (that’s not his name of course, but it sounded good!!!) fix me up with my favorite rolls. LOL!!!!!!

  6. Pingback: What do you want to see in 2013? « Three 31

  7. Lady you are ambitious! I love it. I am a volunteer manager by day so I especially love your resolution to volunteer, only about 23% of Americans volunteer so you will be joining an elite crew.

    • Thanks Kristina! I try to serve or volunteer as much as I can, mostly through mission trips. Last year was busy, I went on three trips including Haiti. I think 2013 is going to be even better. Big hugs!

  8. I’ve enjoyed reading through your resolutions and adding some of them to my own lists! I hope you get the chance to cross off more than a few this year!

    • Hi Erin, thank you for stopping by my blog! I think 2013 is going to be a great year, filled with experiences and opportunities I can’t even imagine. When you finish your list, I hope you’ll share the link. I am always inspired by others who aspire to achieve and push themselves outside their comfort zones. Cheers to 2013. Be blessed!

  9. Such a great list – cheers to a successful 2013!

  10. Love you goals! You go girl!! Hope we can meet up sometime soon!!

  11. Hello! I saw your bloggy goals on Eat. Enjoy. Live. and wanted to see if you wanted to cross off one of those goals and guest post on my site 🙂 Email me at jugglingactmama.blogspot.com if you’re interested! 🙂
    ang

  12. Wow, that is quite the list. Thanks for sharing on my FB page! I really like how you incorporated volunteer work in. One ministry I think is awesome to volunteer at if you get the chance, is a crisis pregnancy center.

    I hope you reach your 2013 goals! 🙂

    ahumblebumble.blogspot.com

  13. You are so much more motivated than I! I barely came up with 13! I love your list!

    • Thank you, Sweet Lady. I’ve actually been working on this list for a couple of months. I get a lot of inspiration from other bloggers and I’ve put a lot of thought (and heart) into my resolutions. I think 2013 is going to be a great year. BIG HUGS! =)

  14. Last year I created a list with my boyfriend about places we wanted to visit in our city and things we wanted to try and every sunday we tried to do at least one of those on the list. dinner at this place or try out this new movie theater, check out the improv or a musical in this theater and it reduced the hassle of so much planning in the end. A date can also consist of a baking class or a dancing class. It worked great for us. We’ve come to the realization that it’s helped us keep our 5 year relationship always new after we realized we ended up at the same fridays every “date”.

  15. This is such a great list, wow!

    xx
    Kelly
    Sparkles and Shoes

    • Thank you, Kelly! Your list of goals are fantastic, I wish you nothing but the best in 2013. Be blessed and be a blessing. And thank you for reminding me to say “thank you” more often! Hugs, New Friend! =)

  16. Wow. That’s an impressive list. I love how diverse it is. I hope you can accomplish all of these. You will be able to experience so many different cultures!

  17. I hope you get to go wild hog hunting! Since we moved to TX everyone talks about it but I’ve never known anyone who has actually gone. Going to service for a different religion would be really interesting too, I think one of the best ways to grow in your faith is to be aware of what every else’s beliefs are and why you believe what you do instead of what they do.

    • Hey Amanda!!! Thanks for visiting my blog. I think ’13 is going to be a great year and I sure hope to accomplish a lot of this list. I grew up bird-hunting with my Dad, but that’s NOTHING like hog-hunting. Husband and I are looking into scheduling a hunt and possibly making it an annual tradition. As far as the religious ceremonies, I really enjoy experiencing things, ideas, and people who are “different” than me. If we were all the same, this world would be so boring! I have family and friends that practice other religions and this is the year I really submit myself to experience and enjoy the unknown. Happy New Year! =)

  18. I always enjoy reading your blogs. I admire your courage to publish your goals for all to see and to be held accountable. I, on the other hand, wouldn’t publish mine for fear of failure to accomplish due to my lack of personal motivation/determination.
    Keep up the good work Nicole, I admire your strength. Happy 2013

    • Whitney, you are too kind. Publishing this list is easy, DOING these things is hard! I’ve set the bar pretty high, but I think I can accomplish most of these things if I put forth the effort. However, I’m completely ignoring the calls from the dirty laundry and kitchen right now. I don’t wanna clean! LOL

  19. Happy New Year Nicole!

    I love that you are setting monthly goals for your self! I think I may do that with a focus on my blog! I also love that you have a spa facial every 6-8 weeks list! As the say on Community {tv show}, “Treat Yourself!”

    Thanks for linking up with Sarah and I, we love that you’ve joined us! Just don’t forget to add a button to link back 🙂

  20. Amazing list. =) I’m going to have to wait for this headache to wear off before I finish mine. Haha. So glad you want to come visit this year! And that I could help with the camera bag situation. I hope that combo works out! Happy New Year!

    P.S. You can guest post on my blog anytime. =)

    • Thanks, my dear. Fortunately, sweet tea does not have headache-giving powers!!! I didn’t feel like drinking anything last night, I just enjoyed the company. We ate like we were never eating again, played games, and then watched NYE events from around the country. Happy 2013! You’ve had me on your travel list for a couple of years, I figured if I reciprocated then it would happen sooner. LOL

      I’m taking you up on that guest post offer …… and you know you’re welcome to mine ANYTIME.

  21. I think I can help you with several of these and it would be a hoot!

  22. Thanks Nicole!! 🙂 So Sweet!! Oh, please add our button to your post!! 😀

  23. You should definitely read Gone With the Wind, it’s a great read~ Scarlett O’Hara is one of my heroines ^^

  24. I think your list is pretty great but, LONG! Haha. I can’t wait to see the progress!!

  25. Hey Nicole!
    I don’t know if you remember, but the link up I’m hosting for New Years is live now!
    http://www.lovesarahk.com/2013/01/happy-new-years-13-resolutions-for-2013.html

Let me know what you think. I read and enjoy each and every one of your comments!!